Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Nail Polish – Review

If you have been following my blog for a while you’ll know I’ve tried professional Gel Nails a few times and loved the shine, colour vibrancy and the wear but didn’t like the eventual chipping, wear on my nails and difficulty to remove.

I’m a bit excited to have been introduced to Sally Hansen Miracle Gel nail polishes that you can do at home without a lamp and you can remove them easily whenever you like with normal nail polish remover! I know! Amazing right!

Check out these colours:

sally_hansen_gel_miracle_nail_review_australian_colours sally_hansen_gel_miracle_nail_review_colours_bottleSo how does it work? Mega easy! You need 2 things.

  1. A Sally Hansen Miracle Gel nail polish
  2. The Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Top Coat – in the black bottle.

Steps:

  1. Paint on 1 coat of the Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Nail polish and let it dry.
  2. Paint on another coat and let it dry for a good 15 minutes.
  3. Paint on the top coat with nice generous brush strokes.
  4. Leave to dry in natural light (sunlight will help make it cure faster) for about 15 minutes and you’re done!

sally_hansen_gel_miracle_nail_reviewsally_hansen_gel_miracle_nail_review_top_coatI love the wide brush that these polishes come with. By far my favourite brush of any nail polish I have ever used I have to say. Really easy to control and good coverage.

There are 18 colours to choose from and here are the 5 I trialled.

Review of the Sally Hansen Miracle Gel wear and longevity:

The polishes are meant to last for up to 14 days but I found that at 7 days it was ready to take them off. It was mainly my busy typing pointer finger that copped some chips, but the other fingers held out reasonably well. Of course nails grow in a week, and so the bottom get a little gappy then it’s time to re-paint. Since you can just use normal nail polish remover, it’s easy to do.

I honestly am very impressed with the wear these polishes provided across the week despite the little chips. I tried a few colours for a full week each to give you a very trialed and tested honest review. I found that the Pink Shock Wave colour gave the best wear…. but that was the third one I trialled so I think I had mastered the application by then. The key is to not skimp on the polish when you’re painting otherwise you get streaks.

sally_hansen_miracle_gel_chips

3 days in wearing Pink Piggy

sally_hansen_miracle_gel_chips

7 days of wear

sally_hansen_miracle_gel_chips

7 days of wear with the tip chips forming in my most used fingers and in places where my nail tends to split anyway.

I have been raving about this polish to my friends during my trial. I just love the gloss my nails have, the extra strength it gives them and the wear of the polish.

I know they are called “gel” nails, but I don’t know if that’s really what I would call them. They don’t last as long as real gel nails and aren’t as rounded, smooth and tough as professional gels. If you have ever had professional gels, you’ll know they are hard as rock and you can rub them against each other and they make a really hard tapping noise. For the Sally Hansen Miracle Gel, I would just say the polish is long lasting, tough and glossy nail polish, which isn’t a bad thing…but not really the same as gels. I’m really excited to continue using these polishes and getting a full, confident week of wear out of them.

You can purchase Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Nail Polish in Australia from Chemist Warehouse, Priceline, Target and independent pharmacies for $16.95. You can also get special launch duo packs with a colour and the top coat for just $19.95 for a limited time.

This entry was posted in Nail Polish, Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Nail Polish – Review

  1. Pingback: I’m a beauty blogger. Here’s a list of my favourite beauty products ever. | Beauty Chattette

Leave a Reply

