How to get suckered in by make up sales reps – Burberry make up – review

Let me tell you a story just sit right there, I’ll tell you how I got suckered in to purchasing product I didn’t want!

Sigh

So I was walking through a department store on my way to look at some shirts. A Burberry sales assistant hands me a purfume card for their latest purfume. I took it to be polite and kept walking but she told me about how they were having a special event today with champagne to try out the new seasons collection. She handed me an appointment card. I had some time to kill before I went to see my friends for dinner. I asked if she had time free now, she said yes. Being a beauty lover I thought it would be a lovely idea to have the chance to try out Burberry’s new season collection especially since I had never tried their products before.

Burberry Lavender blue, midnight plum eyeshadow

I sat down and she offered me the champagne which I refused. She was very sweet and nice and we had a nice chat about life as she gave me a smokey purple eye to match my green eyes.

I had no plans to buy anything because frankly I have too much make up as it is and there is nothing that I am currently in need of. She asked me if there was anything I needed.

Me: “no, not right now thank you but please write the colours down for me so I can get the foundation in a few months when my current one runs out”

Sales assistant: “Oh but you need to spend $50, it’s a redeemable make over with purchase”

Me: “WHATTTTTT You never told me that!”

Sales assistant: “Yeah… I told you that at the start”

Me: “UUMMMM nooooooo I don’t remember that at all.” (There would have been no way I would have done this if I thought it was going to cost me anything since I don’t need any make up.)

Sales assistant: “Sorry I did tell you”

….. Whatever she totally didn’t but what was I going to do? Storm out? I was pretty bloody mad but kept a smile on my face… I bought a beautiful pink coloured lipstick for $50. It really is lovely but I don’t need it. $50 is a lot of money for something you don’t want or need. Im going to take it back and return it. I’m really really upset that I got tricked into this. I swear she never told me it was redeemable! This is a reason I don’t trust make up counter staff. Always trying to sell you something you don’t want in their own brand that might not even be good for you.

I really liked when I was in America and went to Sephora and the sales assistants could actually choose you the best products from all of the great brands in the store and steer you clear of the certain products in each brand that weren’t great. I think that’s where Mecca Cosmetica is good here in Australia.

Anyway. So the Burberry products were nice and the illuminating primer fresh glow ($70) was lovely as was the foundation ($75). She recommended the illuminating concealer which is similar to YSL Touche Eclat but heavier apparently. She used it under my eyes which ended up looking wrinkly and gross when I went to inspect in the mirror after I bought my $50 anger lipstick. She used a dark black eyeliner against my top lashes and went over it with the midnight black eyeshadow. I must admit she did a pretty good job at walking me through each step to create this look… but still. I’m angry and did not deserve to be silently trapped into a $50 purchase!

Purple Smokey eye of anger… but it does look pretty.

My tip? If a make up counter person asks you to come and try the product ask up front if it is a free trial! Don’t be scared and don’t get suckered in!

Have you ever been suckered into this kind of sale before without knowing?

This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How to get suckered in by make up sales reps – Burberry make up – review

  1. Megan says:

    Wow I’ve never heard of this tactic before, I’d hate to be treated like that and made to feel trapped into buying something that I had no interest in purchasing. Grrr!

  2. emmabovary says:

    Oh my goodness the cheek of her! I would’ve been rude and left, that is tactical and not nice at all. You know, no matter how lovely that lipstick is it will always make you mad when you think of her. You’re right to return it! Though your makeup did look great 🙂

  3. Definitely return it! Lol if a sales assistant did that to me they would be in trouble, I rarely have $50 in my bank account, ever. Poor uni student and all.

    Department stores will return anything, I know because I used to work in one, and they would make us return items that people had ripped and stuff. It just sucks because a) you got suckered in, and b) you have to make a return trip to return it!

    • belindabel says:

      I ended up returning it and wrote a letter to management too. 🙂

      • Mary says:

        Good for you ! Glad you told the management about this deceptive tactic from the shop girl.
        Hope you told them you operate a well known beauty blog with a very considerable number of readers and any review you publish on a company or product is genuine and unquestionable.

Leave a Reply

